M5.16 - Review of target platforms and requirements

The platform requirements review has been superseded by full implementation for services on both Unix and Windows systems. 

The OBOE system now consists of at least nine machines:

  1. Unix physical machines (Vibrant, Bonnacon, Cockatrice, Karakal)
  2. Unix virtual machines (Goblin, Voonith)
  3. Windows physical machines (Gecko)
  4. Windows virtual machines (Nyogtha, Syncerus)


We have in principle agreements and a free allocation of startup CPU hours to run services on the OSC clusters and on NGS resources.

A simple service API is now in place that will allow any authenticated Windows or Unix machine, located anywhere on the internet, to run OBOE services.